Shubman Gill could be in trouble with the match referee for his tweet that took a dig at the third umpire for his controversial dismissal in the second innings of the WTC final.
15 minutes after stumps on Day 4, Gill, who was adjudged caught by Cameron Green diving to his left at gully, took to social media to question the third umpire’s decision. Tweeting an image of Green taking the catch, the batsman captioned it with two magnifying glass emojis followed by a facepalm emoji.

Clause 2.7 of the ICC’s code of conduct states that social media posts by a player or support staff are within the jurisdiction of what constitutes a breach of the code.

When Green was told about Gill’s tweet and was asked if he indeed took the catch cleanly, the allrounder said that he was sure that he had taken the catch cleanly.
“I definitely thought I caught it. It was left up to the third umpire and he agreed.”
The incident led to a charged atmosphere at the Oval.

1/12

Australia claim maiden World Test Championship title

Show Captions

‘WE HAVE MORE CAMERAS IN IPL THAN IN WTC FINAL’
Rohit Sharma added to the debate over the controversial Shubman Gill catch by saying that the third umpire should have watched more replays.
“He saw it 3 or 4 times and was convinced. The decision was made quite quickly. When a catch like that has been taken, you need to be more than 100% sure because it’s a final and we were at that important stage of the game as well.”
He also questioned the lack of enough camera angles. “There were only one or two camera angles that were shown. We’ve got 10 angles in IPL. I don’t know why in a world event like this, there was no ultramotion that was seen, or any kind of zoomed image was seen.”

cricket match

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *